Todoist – Simply powerful!

May 7, 2007

Todoist logo

For a long time now, I’ve considered Remember the milk as the best way to manage my tasks and keep life organized. It has it’s troubles and it can get a little slow at times, but the power it provided me was unparelleled. So what if I never used half of it’s feature set? It just felt like the best online todo manager out there!

That was till I came across Todoist. To start with, it felt a bit too simple; especially for someone coming from the overtly heavy interface of Remember the milk. I had a ton of questions – including the most basic of things like “How do I set the priority of a task while creating it?” and “Can I set a time rather than just the date?”. But a beautifully minimalistic ‘Info’ page and a series of screencasts with audio (and the author’s loveably different accent) made things crystal clear. Within minutes, I had become a power user with the application and in less than a day todoist took over everything else I had ever used as my task manager of choice.

I’ve been using it for a week now and it has very quickly become much more than a way to organize my day-to-day tasks. I’ve created a number of lists – birthdays, movies to watch, music to buy, etc. And the best part is that there’s not a single day that goes by without letting me discover a powerful new feature or use for the application.

Todoist is my example for a lot of things – an ideal web 2.0 application, a lesson in responsiveness (not just on the web, but even in desktop applications), a brilliant example of what one man’s genius can achieve… But above all, it is a great example of how a simple interface can pack a shipload of power!

20 Responses to “Todoist – Simply powerful!”

  1. Amber Vaesca Says:

    I have had a similar experience with Todoist, almost precisely the same. I came from Thinking Rock, which after an unfortunate crash destroyed an entire day of work. Looking for something new, I came across Todoist. At first I thought it was way to simplistic to replace something like Thinking Rock, but the more I used it, the more I found myself appreciating the interface. It actually isn’t simple, really. In fact, it can be quite powerful, it only seems simple because it is so deft at doing things that other solutions make complicated.

    Todoist made me rethink the way I approach GTD, and in a healthy way too. I see now that I was over-thinking my lists, before. I am one of those GTD-ers that never “got” contexts, so the lack of any second-axis collation never bothered me with Todoist.

    And you’ve got it right about the interface aspect. It honestly doesn’t feel like a web page. Keyboard shortcuts, direct editing, beautiful. It has all of the features I need, such as recurring dates, and nothing I do not need.

  2. Neo Says:

    Agree with you. RTM loses on its ‘advanced features’.

  3. abogawat Says:

    Agree with you Amber. I like the basic philosophy of GTD, but never did get very far with the structure of it – contexts, projects, next actions. For me, GTD is all about ensuring visibility to tasks that need to be done and ensuring they get done.

    Todoist’s ability to let me have hierarchical project structures just won me over everything else I’d used, including RTM.

  4. Aaron Griffin Says:

    I did exactly the same. Remember the Milk seemed great, at first. The problem was it was so weighty that I never actually *used* it as I should. Todoist definitely hit that sweet spot.

  5. Tom Says:

    I just started using Todoist and I’m impressed. It can do GTD-like contexts if you like. You can tag tasks and then search on the tags. For example, I use the tag “@NA” for next-action items. I can then search for the @NA tag and see all of my next-actions across all of my projects.

  6. Sean Byrne Says:

    Have to say, stumbled across todolist yesterday and after just a couple of hours of poking around I am up and running… pity about the accessibility bit, but hey in time ?

    regards
    Sean Byrne,
    Managing Director
    http://www.enhance.ie
    For website development, design, accessibility and optimisation

  7. AbuAbdAllah Says:

    I started a Google Group for Todoist.com users. The group fills the gap left by the understandable decision of the developers to give support only to paid users. But it also permits easy sharing of power-user tips, feature requests, bug reports, kudos, and more. Check it out and please spread the word: http://groups.google.com/group/todoists

  8. GoldenBoy Says:

    You should also check out postica at http://www.posti.ca

    It’s a very simple site that lets you create sticky notes, drag them around, upload a file and send it to friends.

    One of the better sites along with Todoist that I’ve seen in a while – simple is good!

  9. robskils Says:

    I agree with pretty much all you have said. For me a task management application should be just that – nothing more, and nothing less. I have written a post on how I use Todoist myself (which is not exactly how it was designed to be used) here: http://lsdigitalmedia.co.uk/2008/12/how-to-get-the-most-out-of-todoist/

  10. Dan Says:

    For implementing GTD you can use this web-based application:

    http://www.Gtdagenda.com

    You can use it to manage your goals, projects and tasks, set next actions and contexts, use checklists, schedules and a calendar.
    A mobile version is available too.

  11. To Do List Says:

    I love Wipee List! :)

  12. Kristian Says:

    Definitely try out TASCK.com – a super simple, minimal, clean, ajax powered to do list.

    Get more done in less clicks.

  13. Jane Goody Says:

    After reading this article, I just feel that I need more information on the topic. Could you suggest some more resources please?

  14. Jason Merck Says:

    check out http://www.taskerous.com it is awesome and simple. I love the tags concept for managing tasks.

  15. Laurie Cope Says:

    I have to agree. I have been trying to find reasons to use RTM due to having more features but I just can’t make myself like the way it lists and Tags tasks. I keep coming back to Todoist all the time. Even though it has less features, its simplicity that sells it to me. It focuses on Tasks far more than RTM which seems information overload!


  16. [...] narazil, nasbíral Todoist velkou řádku uživatelů. Překvapivě se mezi nimi objevují i přeběhlíci z RememberTheMilk. Člověk by přitom řekl manažer seznamu jeden jako druhý. A tak vzhledem k [...]


  17. I shortage to know around your website brook with the plenty of information prop up service providers like you.

  18. Luke C Says:

    Have you tried dooster? It is similar to todoist in its simplicity and ease of use. But it is also very powerful, I started using it because I was asked to share a project on it by a client. It made the project – and my client – much easier to manage Check it out http://dooster.net


  19. I think you are right.You have a great experience with Todoist.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

